"Leur crime : un enragé vouloir de nous apprendre à mépriser
les dieux que nous avons en nous."

René Char - La Parole en archipel (Gallimard - 1962)
* Hypothesis
* The triangle of the desire
* External & internal mediation
* The loss of the differences
* Mimetic rivalry

The desire never stops to the only observation of the differences: it wants to become the so fascinating Other, and so to reduce all what distinguishes itself from its model, because everything in this last one says to the subject : do like me.

    "The desire according to the Other is always the desire to be the Other. There is only single metaphysical desire but the particular desires which concretize this primordial desire vary ad infinitum. " (MRVR p.101)

It is naturally what does Don Quixotte with Amadis de Gaule: to become a perfect knight, it is enough to imitate the acts of a perfect knight. It is also what will do, for example, all little children in their learning of social behaviours, cleanliness or language. By imitating their parents or teachers, and this with a fearsome precision, they make like the adults, better, they become adults.

In these two cases, there is not a real interference between the spheres of intentions and actions of the subject and the model; Rene Girard will speak then about external mediation. Quixotte can indeed imitate completely what he thinks of being the behavior of his hero, what separates one of the other remains invariant in spite of the exploits of the knight. The model Amadis does not indicate anything in particular and the failures of Quixotte do not lead to any consequence since he can easily pass to other thing. In the same way the young children imitate with more close their teachers, one even encourages them there, but inside a educationnal frame which maintains a certain distance between subject and model, prohibiting confusion. If many little girls want to become schoolmistress, it is later, and all is in this "later".


The estrangement between the subject and the model which characterizes the external mediation is not a simple question of physical or temporal distance, but is also due to the nature of the differences separating, originally, one and the other.

    "Although the geographical estrangement can constitute a factor of it, the distance between the mediator and the subject is initially spiritual. D.Q. and Sancho are always close physically but the social and intellectual distance which separates them remains unsuperable." (MRVR, page 22).

However, unless evolve in the void which is one of the romantic illusions, the desire inevitably will come into contact with other desires. It will do it more easily and quickly if those are near, i.e. are interested in the same objects. Thus, nothing separates Mr. de Rênal and Valenod, which clashes both to dominate the social life of Verrières and which are thus very attentive to what is and what does the other : Julien Sorel is not the possible tutor to the one or the other one. He is whose will allow his employer to obtain an advantage in this prestige rivalry.

This proximity of desires and the rivalry which it involves is going to characterize what Girard will name at first the internal mediation and which will become afterward the mimetic desire.

Next >

 
The Hypothesis • Girard's Anthropology • The Gospel Revelation
Debates (only in French) • BibliographyLinks

logo désir mimétique
Le désir ne s'arrête jamais au seul constat des différences : il veut devenir l'Autre fascinant, et donc réduire tout ce qui le distingue de son modèle, parce que tout en ce dernier lui dit : fais comme moi.

" Le désir selon l'Autre est toujours le désir d'être un Autre. Il n'y a qu'un seul désir métaphysique mais les désirs particuliers qui concrétisent ce désir primordial varient à l'infini." (MRVR p.101)

C'est bien sûr ce que fait Don Quichotte avec Amadis de Gaule : pour devenir un parfait chevalier, il suffit d'imiter les actes d'un chevalier parfait. C'est aussi ce que vont faire, par exemple, tous les petits enfants dans leur apprentissage des conduites sociales, de la propreté ou du langage. En imitant les adultes, parents ou enseignants, et ce avec une précision redoutable, ils font comme les grands, mieux, ils deviennent grands.

Dans ces deux cas, il n'y a pas de réelle interférence entre les sphères d'intentions et d'actions du sujet et du modèle ; René Girard parlera alors de médiation externe. Quichotte peut bien imiter en tout point ce qu'il pense être le comportement de son héros, ce qui sépare l'un de l'autre reste invariant malgré les exploits du chevalier. Le modèle Amadis ne désigne rien de particulier et les échecs du Quichotte n'emportent aucune conséquence puisqu'il peut aisément passer à autre chose. De même les jeunes enfants imitent au plus près leurs éducateurs, on les y encourage même, mais à l'intérieur d'un cadre pédagogique qui maintient une certaine distance entre sujet et modèle, interdisant la confusion. Si beaucoup de petites filles veulent devenir maîtresses d'école, c'est plus tard, et tout est dans ce "plus tard".

rrené girard sujet objet

L'éloignement sujet - modèle qui caractérise la médiation externe n'est pas une simple question de distance physique ou temporelle, mais tient également à la nature des différences séparant, à l'origine, l'un et l'autre.

"Bien que l'éloignement géographique puisse en constituer un facteur, la distance entre le médiateur et le sujet est d'abord spirituelle. D.Q. et Sancho sont toujours physiquement proches mais la distance sociale et intellectuelle qui les sépare demeure infranchissable." (MRVR, page 22).

Cependant, sauf à évoluer dans le vide - qui est une des illusions romantiques -, le désir va forcément entrer en contact avec d'autres désirs. Il le fera d'autant plus facilement et rapidement que ceux-ci sont proches, c'est-à-dire s'intéressent aux mêmes objets. Ainsi, rien ne sépare M. de Rênal de Valenod, qui s'affrontent tous les deux pour dominer la vie sociale de Verrières et qui sont donc très attentifs à ce que qu'est et ce que fait l'Autre : Julien Sorel n'est pas le précepteur possible chez l'un où l'autre, il est celui qui permettra à son employeur d'obtenir un avantage dans cette lutte de prestige.

Cette proximité des désirs et la rivalité qu'elle entraîne va caractériser ce que Girard nommera dans un premier temps la médiation interne et qui deviendra par la suite le désir mimétique.

La perte des différences >